DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Obstruction Avoidance Problem

GGinSRQ

Reactions
I am a newbie (15 flights), so this may be a silly question, but I have had a problem in three of my last four flights.

First, all the software and firmware appears to be current.

This has happened at a distance of at least 1500 feet away from me. Last night it was over water (second time this has happened) and at about 430 feet (no birds). After recording a sunset, I first backed my Mavic up about 250 feet. I then turned it around and started to fly the Mavic back to me. It went about 100 feet and stopped, giving me a message that was something like "obstruction detected, plot a different course.' This is the same that has happened in each of the flights.

My first thought was that there might have been a bird. I flew it straight up and down 30 to 40 feet, knowing birds know that birds don't fly that direction. No bird has ever been seen in front of the gimbal, BTW. I tried going forward again. It wouldn't budge. I turned off the obstruction avoidance feature, knowing there was nothing to hit. Again nothing. I finally tried RTH. That worked for about half the trip home. Another obstruction message appeared and it stopped dead again. I canceled out of RTH and the gimbal panned up to the horizon, back down about 30 degrees, and it let me fly again. I managed to get it back safe and sound.

Any advice from the vets about what I am doing to cause this, or, what I should do to overcome it should it occur again? I have managed to get it back each time, but this time it was with very little battery life left.

Thanks in advance!

If you were flying into sunlight, the collision avoidance may have been "seeing" sun spots/glare and thought this was an object. This is a known issue.

Thanks, tcope, but it was actually after the sun had set and I was flying away from the sunset back to home. Good info though about flying into the sun.