DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Out, Sleep, Back???

audiomatt

Reactions
Hi all. I'm a field recordist researching the use of drones for my work. My basic practice is to go to a fun location, leave my mics somewhere for as long as possible (15 hrs?) come back and review the material (usually 95% boring).

I'm wondering if there are any drones I could fly a small (100g) field recorder somewhere, leave it there and fly it back the next day. It appears that the DJI Mini, which looks perfect, only has a physical power switch. I find this sad since, for 99 percent of this mission, I'll need no power at all.

Thoughts? Any solutions to this? I'm a drone noob.

Reactions: Skywatcher2001
Welcome to the forum audiomatt . . . an interesting job. I can see a solution for what you are attempting to do. Since its in the public I don't see an invasion of privacy issue (a battle we here fight daily). It may be a bit creepy but we get that label too ;) .

So to fully understand, you want to fly a mic'd drone into a location and power it off (except a live mic) . . . after hours of gathering public conversations you'd power it up and fly it out of there, correct?

Not easy as you’d need a system to put the recorder on the ground, and pick up again reliably later.
Exactly executed.
The mini would not be right for the job.
Use a drone with occusync connection, as wifi would not give you enough lower altitude reliability, you lose signal and the drone would (if lucky) return to home.
Even with a Mavic Pro, Pro Platinum, or Mavic 2 Pro or zoom, it’d be hard to fly some distance, with trees, terrain etc, and get low enough to lower a device.
An automated control app may do it, Litchi, Drone Deploy, etc, I have never used one, but think they too would not handle the fine drop and retrieve operations.