DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

P2's P3p's P4P all good... Mavic first flight YIKES!

CactusJackSlade

Reactions
Got My Mavic in today (NewEgg ordered on 11/23) and I have to say my first flight was "breath taking"... and not in a good way.

Calibrated everything, updated to latest firmware etc. I've been flying Quads for 5 years, had the Phantom 2, 3, 4... never have I had an issue.

Todays first flight caught me by surprise. Fired up, all OK, GPS homepoint lock... all was good.

Took off, went out 25 feet, hovered, did a 180 looking back at me and full disconnect.. no control what so ever downlink froze. Error msg said "control stick calibration error" or something to that effect and then the app froze.

There is was 25 feet away at 6 feet above the ground not responding. I had actually shut down the app using my phone button to close it as it was frozen. Finally got the app back up and was able to land it immediately.

Went back inside, re-checked everything, second flight went fine.

Like I said in the title, I've had all kinds of Quads, most with DJI controllers, all the Phantom Series 2, 3, 4 and have NEVER had an issue like this. Not very comforting... now the rain is here and will not be able to re-test for a few days, of course that will allow my nerves to regain themselves :eek:

I did notice some slight video break up on my usual flight path, whereas on my P3's and P4P there has never been an issue at a short distance (less than 500 feet). Hummmm

With all that said, this is non-the-less a great looking and great flying machine... and a lot more fun to fly thatn a Phantom simply because it has a "front" and orientation is a bit easier... plus it just looks way more cool than the Phantom's :p

Bottom line, check and double check before your first flight... I still don't know what my issue was...

Have you updated to latest firmware?