DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Places to safely fly in Pensacola

Reactions
I am a rookie, just need to know where I can fly and hone my skills in the Pensacol area, and maybe start some local discussions. I just received my Mini 2, cant wait to try it out but I don't want to hurt anyone, anything, or break the drone. All suggestions are very much appreciated, salute!

I am a rookie, just need to know where I can fly and hone my skills in the Pensacol area, and maybe start some local discussions. I just received my Mini 2, cant wait to try it out but I don't want to hurt anyone, anything, or break the drone. All suggestions are very much appreciated, salute!

Download the B4YOUFLY app. It's the FAA's app for drone pilots to check on airspace restrictions. You can scan around the area and quickly find places that are definitely off limits to drones and places that get the green light. The area around Pensacola and to the east has many military installations and operations that you'll need to avoid. And the Gulf Islands National Seashore is off limits too.

Be sure to get your TRUST certificate, too. It's required for all non-toy drones. It's free, quick, educational and failure-free,

Reactions: Dbez1 and 4006448
Thank, I will use youe suggestions and see if can master that app, salute
Here's another good resource. The Pilot Institute is a flight training company that participates in this forum. They offer some excellent online drone training, much of it without charge. There's an intro course devoted exclusively to flying the Mini 2 that would probably be a good one for you. Also, have a look at the Recreational Drone Flying Made Easy course for a great rundown on regulations and good operating practices.

Check into their free drone registration number stickers, too.

Have fun with that Mini 2. It's a wonderful drone. It sounds like you're taking a wise approach at learning to operate it.