DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Quad Bayer (mini 3) with large prints

joebee

Reactions
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the drone scene with a mini 2 and looking to upgrade. The main thing I am looking to use it for moving forward is for wall posters and prints of mostly coastal images.

I've been keen to try get my hands on the mini 3 pro but the more I read about quad Bayer sensors the more I am unsure. My worry is the mini 3 quad Bayer sensor will give similar results to the mini 2 12mp which didn't have the resolution I was after for larger wall prints.

Is this the case and should I perhaps get the air 2s instead?

Somehow I find it hard to believe the tiny lens on a any drone, no matter the megapixels will have the resolution needed for a wall poster.

Unfortunately, describing that the Mini 3 has a 48 effective MP sensor is just a marketing ploy. The 12MP sensor of most drones will make a pretty nice A3 print. Consider taking six or eight overlapping shots, then stitch them in Photoshop for a file that you can take to A2 or larger.

Unfortunately, describing that the Mini 3 has a 48 effective MP sensor is just a marketing ploy. The 12MP sensor of most drones will make a pretty nice A3 print. Consider taking six or eight overlapping shots, then stitch them in Photoshop for a file that you can take to A2 or larger.
I thought of this but the vast majority of my shots are of Australian coastline which generally includes large long moving waves. Stitching together tends to show splits in the waves. I've done a few test prints at A3 and although not too bad they were not mega impressive.

Reactions: 3dphotodrone
For printing purposes would the '48 megapixels' have no real gain over the 12? Understand it is unlikely to get me 4x the resolution but if it gets me 2x improvement I'd be happy