DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Quadruple your photo resolution in Photoshop

FASTFJR: Please take a look at the article (the link in my original post) by Eric Chan. This does work to improve small pixel count images. I've now had the chance to test it in Camera Raw in Photoshop on small photos (e.g. from cell phones). It isn't necessary for images taken with my 7K pixel dimension Nikon D800, or even higher, the D850, or Canon's top of the line DSLR's. I totally agree that "uprezzing" a 50 dpi image to 300dpi or higher for printing won't work.

Reactions: Phantomrain.org
I purchased a Mavic 2 Pro almost 2 years ago. I am a retired commercial photographer who owned a studio in Mpls. for 32 years. Image quality is more than pixel count. A image from a $1600. camera is going to better than a $400. camera. Nothing substitutes for a well composed, well exposed image. Think of the old saying GIGO, garbage in, garbage out. If you capsure an image that is over/under exposed, back lit and out of focus, “up resing” isn’t going to help. I have used Adobe Photoshop as my default image editor for 22 years. It’s a wonderful tool. But don’t expect to fix your serious mistakes with it. You get what you pay for!
MN.MavicFlyer
I totally agree. Up resing a poor image (e.g. composition, exposure) isn't going to turn lead into gold.

I used On1 Resize many years ago for one image I wanted to print very large. Worked well, but I don't use this sort of thing often enough to justify a big investment. I'll have to try out the Photoshop version since I have the CC Photographers subscription and see how it does. Wife and I have been talking about getting some very large (4' wide) metal prints done of some of our pics.