DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Return to home

Zebra48

Premium Pilot
Reactions
I am new to drone flying and am still getting my head around the various restrictions and recommendations. (I have registered as an operator and a flyer with the CAA and completed their online test.) As I understand the regulations, I am permitted to fly a drone up to an altitude of 120m from the ground on which I am controlling the drone/ where it takes off. One of the areas (moorland) from which I hope to fly my drone (take-off location) is at an altitude of 110m approx. So technically I could fly the drone upwards for a further120m, resulting in it being at an altitude of 230m above sea level, although only 120m above the take-off location. Am I correct? Have I understood the regulations correctly?

In the above scenario, is the RTH figure (e.g. 60m ) the height above ground or above sea level? I've had conflicting answers to this question. If the height for RTH is above sea level, then I would need to set the RTE height at 140m approx. Hopefully the experienced members of this group can give a little clarification. As you will understand, I just want to get it right.

Any RTH number will be measured from your takeoff point. If you set RTH at 70 meters, it will RTH at 70 meters above your home point.

Reactions: Zebra48 and Brian I
The aircraft and controller do not use Mean height above Sea-level (MSL) and only use height above the take-off point. It’s one reason the word Altitude is rarely used as that would normally be a relative measure to sea-level.