DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Search and Rescue: Ingy

Chaosrider

Reactions
This is going to sound incredibly corny, but the thing that inspired me to get into droning was the NASA drone Ingenuity, on Mars. Ingenuity just completed it's 8th successful flight.

So, when I got my first drone, a Snaptain S5C, I named it Ingy. A great little intro trainer, but zero wind resistance. Good camera, though, for a cheap trainer. Living in a canyon, both wide flat spaces and calm winds are mythical conditions. I tended to fly early in the morning.

The S5C has three speed settings, just like the Mini-2. I started training on the slowest setting. I got better controlling it in the wind over time, but I was spending all of my time just keeping it stable where I wanted it, rather than flying around and doing what I wanted to do.

I've flown dozens of different models of human-sized airplanes, and as a general rule, the heavier they are, the more stable they are. I started looking around for a heavier drone, but I came across an article (which may have been a pointer to somewhere in this forum!), that pointed out that wind resistance in drones is produced by the intelligent application of substantial engine power, and not by increased weight.

This made perfect sense to me, so I increased the power on Ingy to the middle setting, and sure enough, that DID make a difference! I still had to actively control it to keep it stable in the wind, but it was easier to do that at the higher power level. I was even able to get some decent video.