DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

settings for flying on snow mountains

Solomonenko

Reactions
Hi!

What settings do you use for flying on snow mountains?
I tried to record video on 4K FFoV with 24fps, Dlog-M, 100 ISO, f5.6, 1/50, cloudy white balance, with 8ND filter PolarPro. The day was cloudy and has a lot of snow.
Some additional settings +1 Sharpness, 0 Saturation and 0 Contrast
The footage was very bright and dim light. It doesn't mismatch that I want
worst footage link

Hi,

I am no expert, but i would have used a higher ND filter for sure. Your settings look good but too much light is getting in so you probably needed to change your aperture, but with a stronger filter it would look much better. I have the same filters as you and I have been getting some really good results using the polarised filters too. Are you using any sort of post production software to edit the Dlog-M footage?

Looks like a really cool spot to get some great drone footage!

There are no magical settings - you will have to set them specific to the conditions you encounter. Especially if the sun comes out you will probably need a ND16 or ND32 depending on what aperture you wish to use. You can control all the variables, so there are many combinations that will yield the exact same exposure.

Your footage actually looks fine for Dlog-M, just slightly overexposed (roughly 0.7EV-1.0EV) so I would move up to a ND16 or ND32 and adjust aperture accordingly. Never change ISO off 100. You can also raise your shutter speed a little bit if you want, it doesn't become a problem until it gets really high. The footage also looks dull - if you are going to shoot in Dlog-M it needs to be fully color graded and processed after the fact - if you don't want to do that, shoot in one of the standard modes since Dlog is not a production-ready mode.