Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Telemetry data error?

dke1955

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
12
Reaction score
8
Age
63
Hello everyone,
I will try to make this brief and just factual. New pilot, made two flights in the last two days. Beginner mode both times. Updated to latest software versions, using Samsung s8. Calibrated compass, calibrated IMU (Possibly could have done this wrong..did not restart drone after calibrating). Used a landing pad to take off from hovered at 33 ft. to get GPS lock. Whenever I would land I would use RTH...I expected drone to be a little off when landing but today when drone landed it was several feet off (no wind, dead still). With drone landed, props stopped, telemetry showed a "D" of 5 feet. Yesterday "H" on flight report showed a max altitude of 337 feet..again in beginner mode, in addition I was VERY careful yesterday and today...nothing higher than tree top level...if that. Any idea folks why telemetry is off? Searched forum before this post trying to find answers...seems some have suffered severe problems with update causing location issues...could this be related? What do y'all think?
Thanks to all in advance for any help!
Fly Safe
see ya
dave
 

Dragonfly

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2016
Messages
534
Reaction score
455
Age
59
Hello everyone,
I will try to make this brief and just factual. New pilot, made two flights in the last two days. Beginner mode both times. Updated to latest software versions, using Samsung s8. Calibrated compass, calibrated IMU (Possibly could have done this wrong..did not restart drone after calibrating). Used a landing pad to take off from hovered at 33 ft. to get GPS lock. Whenever I would land I would use RTH...I expected drone to be a little off when landing but today when drone landed it was several feet off (no wind, dead still). With drone landed, props stopped, telemetry showed a "D" of 5 feet. Yesterday "H" on flight report showed a max altitude of 337 feet..again in beginner mode, in addition I was VERY careful yesterday and today...nothing higher than tree top level...if that. Any idea folks why telemetry is off? Searched forum before this post trying to find answers...seems some have suffered severe problems with update causing location issues...could this be related? What do y'all think?
Thanks to all in advance for any help!
Fly Safe
see ya
dave
First mistake, you said you took off and hoverved at 33 feet to aquire GPS.
Always sit on pad and wait for full GPS lock before taking off. This then records an accurate home point and sets all data. You should always wait to hear. (home point has been updated, please check it on the map) before takeoff. You are risking uncontrollable flight and risk of flyaway with what you are doing.
 

dke1955

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
12
Reaction score
8
Age
63
First mistake, you said you took off and hoverved at 33 feet to aquire GPS.
Always sit on pad and wait for full GPS lock before taking off. This then records an accurate home point and sets all data. You should always wait to hear. (home point has been updated, please check it on the map) before takeoff. You are risking uncontrollable flight and risk of flyaway with what you are doing.
Wow...thank you for that! I did hear that on my first or second take off...but then I changed what I was doing for some stupid reason...Thanks Dragonfly, lesson learned..!! Would me taking off like that and hovering account for why D and H were so far off???
 

Dragonfly

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2016
Messages
534
Reaction score
455
Age
59
Wow...thank you for that! I did hear that on my first or second take off...but then I changed what I was doing for some stupid reason...Thanks Dragonfly, lesson learned..!! Would me taking off like that and hovering account for why D and H were so far off???
Yes
 

Former Member

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
14,057
Reaction score
12,988
Loc
Duluth, Georgia
D = Distance and is set by the navigation system including the GPS.

H = Height (altitude) is set by the digital barometric pressure altimeter of the IMU and augments the GPS's trilateration and downward sonic sensors.

It's never a good idea to take off too quickly. As in full scale aircraft, the systems on the Mavic take a minute or two or longer to calibrate and acclimate themselves to the ambient environment. Your main systems include the GPS, compass, IMU, and gimbal. After they are done calibrating it's safe to take off. However, if anything looks wrong, I usually land, power everything off and restart.

This is the Mavics digital barometric altimeter.

IMU.jpg
 

Neted076

Active Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
33
Reaction score
4
Age
61
Loc
New Jersey
Correct me if I’m wrong but if you don’t move a certain distance away from the original home point (horizontally ) it’ll just land without trying to go to the home point.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
64,371
Messages
750,041
Members
91,342
Latest member
ditchweed