DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Total newb, couple of questions

PatrickRU92

Reactions
Hi all just got my Mini, first drone ever for me. Watched a bunch of "how to" vids and did 3 short flights for first time. Couple of questions

1)When I hit RTH it didn't go back to site I took off from , it started descending at a different site, luckily there were no trees or anything else nearby so no harm no foul ,but I though it would come back to the launch site. Why?

2)every time I landed and then wanted to take off again it would make me re-calibrate the compass. I was under the impression that once you did it it wouldn't need to be done again right away. why?

TIA, something tells me I'll be posting here a lot in the near future

Hi all just got my Mini, first drone ever for me. Watched a bunch of "how to" vids and did 3 short flights for first time. Couple of questions

1)When I hit RTH it didn't go back to site I took off from , it started descending at a different site, luckily there were no trees or anything else nearby so no harm no foul ,but I though it would come back to the launch site. Why?

2)every time I landed and then wanted to take off again it would make me re-calibrate the compass. I was under the impression that once you did it it wouldn't need to be done again right away. why?

TIA, something tells me I'll be posting here a lot in the near future

Welcome to the forum!!!

#1 how far were you landing from your original RTH? I think if its within 30* feet it will just land in the spot your at.
#2 are you taking off or landing on anything metal like a car? You should not need to re calibrate every time you take off however, with my mini i do notice that i have to re calibrate if i travel with it in the car pretty regularly.

I really advise you to read the manual for the drone. they really should ship it with it ;)