DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Triple Tree Hit - A Record?

tom29928

Reactions
My Mavic Air 2 crashed itself into an oak tree three times in a flurry yesterday. I have a lot of experience with my Mavic Air, but the Air 2 is new and I may need to read the manual. The flight log is attached, and the video is here

I was observing an alligator in my backyard, and I was about 25 feet from the drone. I got my first battery low (7 minutes remaining, I think) warning on my phone/controller, and started a simple return of the drone toward where I was standing. A large oak tree overhangs much of the area, with 10 feet or more of clearance under it. As the drone approached me, it suddenly flew straight up on its own, into the tree branches, fell out, and repeated twice more before it came to rest on the ground. I pushed every button I could find during this phase, but the drone stayed on self-control (unresponsive to the controller).

My guess is that its default settings triggered a RTH and the drone was proceeding to its prescribed altitude. Its landing point was less than 50 feet away, behind me. The only real damage was the gimbal, which was destroyed, and the drone will be going to Care Refresh.

So, I will be studying the Air 2 manual, but it would help to know what happened. Thanks!

Attachments

• DJIFlightRecord_2020-09-17_[09-17-59].txt
    1.9 MB · Views: 11
Reactions: SmilingOgre
Yes, RTH was triggered at 1065 seconds into the flight. As the triggering reason was low battery, a message with 10 sec count down like this should have popped up on the FLY app asking if you want to proceed or cancel RTH.

1600485176841.png

Apparently no cancellation was done so RTH commenced and the craft ascended to the pre-defined RTH height on it's own. Full throttle-down has been applied repetitively afterwards but the craft did not respond.