DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Troubleshooting Video Feed after Crash

Mpnapoli1

Reactions
Newbie here so i will apologize in advance.... spent about 4 hours researching last night all the different forums and just looking for any additional guidance before starting different repairs.

Problem? Drown crashed into a tree and fall approx. 40 feet. Slight damage to 1 leg was easily repaired but no video feed to phone. Drone is fully functional in flight as best as i can tell based on a quick visual flight. The gimbal fully calibrates and articulates. I can control it up or down with app or the RC. I do hear two slight clicks when on startup that i cant recall if i heard before.

Was unit in a crash? Yes

What have you tried so far? Disassembled gimbal/camera mount from Drone.... No immediate visual damage to cables... Need clarification on Ribbon cable vs PTZ cable... Which does what as i think that might help me further troubleshoot. Does ribbon cable control gimbal and PTZ cable control video? I did remove and reattach the PTZ from the circuit board as some forums indicated that can easily become undone. I did NOT start to take apart the gimbal intself to trace that cable back. I have formatted the SD card and tried to record or take photos based on forums. Nothing records. What is particularly odd is i cant start the drone recording from the controller or the app but then i cant get it to stop on either. I am also having trouble switching modes between video on camera which I don’t recall having problems before? My gut tells me full replacement of the PTZ cable with a new cable but many of you have so much more experience so thought i would hit the threads. I was going to just buy a new gimbal/camera assembly on amazon but it seems like something more basic based on the fact the gimbal appears to be fully functional. Thanks so much for the help!