DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Ultimate Newbie "Where do I start?" Thread

cj2164

Reactions
Just pulled the trigger on purchasing MP2 with Fly More Kit, should be here in 3 days. Did it after flying for the first time a month ago (Inspire 1 V1 Pro from work). Since I am totally new to drone world I figured I would start a thread asking all of you experienced pilots what is the first thing someone like me should do when my bird arrives. I am talking about practical advice, literally everything from how to unpack it to getting proper certification to flying 101. And go!.............

Reactions: jevanbenschoten
Just pulled the trigger on purchasing MP2 with Fly More Kit, should be here in 3 days. Did it after flying for the first time a month ago (Inspire 1 V1 Pro from work). Since I am totally new to drone world I figured I would start a thread asking all of you experienced pilots what is the first thing someone like me should do when my bird arrives. I am talking about practical advice, literally everything from how to unpack it to getting proper certification to flying 101. And go!.............
Settings for Gain/Expo/Pitch EXP etc. Do you know what it all means?

A UAS Pilot's Guide To (Not) Talking To The Tower - June 2017 update

UAV Forecast

Last edited:
Reactions: gm383
I remember the first time Updating the Firmware for your Mavic and controller was Mind numbing slow
and would lock up just before it finished.......... I hope that prosess has Improved

These are great Birds
With ease of flight ...some much so they will lul you into a sense of thinking you a better operator then you are
Don't panic
Never pull both sticks down (CSC) when your mavic is in flight .!
In you controller setting make sure setting are with loss of signal Return to home (RTH)
Your RTH Height should be Higher then any obsticals (Tree's, Building,) near your landing spot (home port)