DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Unfortunate Accident With My Mavic Air 1 - Need Some Answers Please

Ron Fisher

Reactions
Hi everyone! First I would like to say how much I enjoy this forum and how much I appreciate the experience and advice of all the members who participate in it.

Today I thought I would take advantage of the beautiful weather we were experiencing here in Toronto and drive up to the club where I regularly fly my Magic Air 1. I have been flying the drone for 21 months and to date I have amassed 207 flights without incident. I was basically trying to draw my battery level down to the recommended 60% level when, much to my surprise and horror, the drone plummeted to the ground and crashed on the grass from an altitude of approximately 50m. It incurred extensive damage that I think it is irreparable. I do have DJI Refresh + which expires on December 30th.

I launched the drone using the automatic take-off feature in precise mode without problems. The screen showed that it was locked into 17 satellites. At 5:33 minutes I hit the RTH button and it went into return mode without issue.

I intend to upload the log files to this forum for analysis but, based on the following information, is this necessary? These are the notifications I got on the screen:

Flight Time 00:07 - Height: 2.8m
"Home Point Recorded. RTH Altitude: 75m"

Flight Time 5:33 - Height: 54 m
"Aircraft is returning to the Home Point. Minimum RTH Altitude is 75m. You can reset the RTH Altitude in Remote Controller Settings after cancelling RTH."

Flight Time 5:57 - Height: -9.2m
"Gyroscope data error, Contact DJI Support."
" IMU vertical speed error. Please check that the IMU is mounted properly."
" Satellite Positioning Off. Fly with caution."
" IMU altitude error. Please check that the IMU is mounted properly."
" Camera Settings Adjusted."

Flight Time 6:04 - Height: -33.5m