DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Unfortunate Accident With My Mavic Air 1 - Need Some Answers

Ron Fisher

Reactions
Hi everyone! First I would like to say how much I enjoy this forum and how much I appreciate the experience and advice of all the members who participate in it.

Today I thought I would take advantage of the beautiful weather we were experiencing here in Toronto and drive up to the club where I regularly fly my Magic Air 1. I have been flying the drone for 21 months and to date I have amassed 207 flights without incident. I was basically trying to draw my battery level down to the recommended 60% level when, much to my surprise and horror, the drone plummeted to the ground and crashed on the grass from an altitude of approximately 50m. It incurred extensive damage that I think is irreparable. I do have DJI Refresh + which expires on December 30th.

I launched the drone using the automatic take-off feature in precise mode without problems. The screen showed that it was locked into 17 satellites. At 5:33 minutes I hit the RTH button and it went into return mode without issue.

I intend to upload the log files to this forum for analysis but, based on the following information, is this necessary? These are the notifications I got on the screen during the last minute of flight:

Flight Time 00:07 - Height: 2.8m
“Home Point Recorded. RTH Altitude: 75m“

Flight Time 5:33 - Height: 54 m
“Aircraft is returning to the Home Point. Minimum RTH Altitude is 75m. You can reset the RTH Altitude in Remote Controller Settings after cancelling RTH.”

Flight Time 5:57 - Height: -9.2m
“Gyroscope data error, Contact DJI Support.“
“IMU vertical speed error. Please check that the IMU is mounted properly.”
“Satellite Positioning Off. Fly with caution.“
”IMU altitude error. Please check that the IMU is mounted properly.”
“Camera Settings Adjusted.“

Flight Time 6:04 - Height: -33.5m