DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Using a USB C Multiport Adapter

pwrmac7100

Reactions
Hi All,

I'm new to this - so thank you in advance.

I am trying to use a USB-C Multiport adapter so that I can connect to a HDMI display AND the drone controller to my tablet - but I cannot get it to work.

I have a Mavic Pro. I have a Samsung Tab S7 (with 1 USB C port); I also have a Samsung S9+ (with 1 USB C port). I can connect the controller to the tablet/phone with no problems - have been doing it for year. However, I wanted to try and connect a HDMI display so I can show the tablet/phone on a TV at the same time. I bought the Samsung Multiport Adapter (2020), EE-P3200BJEGUJ hoping this would work.

I can connect the display with no problem - but I cannot get the controller to connect via the USB A nor the USB C port on the multiport adapter (I never get the "GO FLY" button in DJI GO4 app). I've tried various usb adapter cables, tried both the A and mini port on the controller, I've tried enable USB debuggin on the the tablet/phone, nothing. I connected a keyboard to the A port on the adapter just to confirm it does, actualy, work - and it the keyboard did.

I pretty techincally inclinded - but this has got me stumped. Any ideas you may have would greatly welcomed.

Thanks

I don’t have any suggestions about the USB issue, but was wondering if it would be possible to cast (screen mirror) the monitor of the phone or tablet to the TV rather than use a cabled connection? Just a thought.

Howard

I don't believe the usb c port on the phone/tablet can handle data input from the controller and at the same time output screen data via the HDMI.