DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Using waypoint missions to follow a construction project

fdewarren

Reactions
I've been using the same waypoints mission for more than 2 years to follow up the construction of this new tower building. I am having a hard time getting the done to fly exactly the same path over time.
What do you think? good job or room for improvement?

Construction follow up

Is that a morphing effect you are using for the transitions?
And how is Litchi waypoints mission more accurate that DJI built in waypoints?

I've been using the same waypoints mission for more than 2 years to follow up the construction of this new tower building. I am having a hard time getting the done to fly exactly the same path over time.
What do you think? good job or room for improvement?

Construction follow up

For me (and don't take this personally) it started out good but deviated from there. Here are my thoughts:

• 1) Don't mix several transitions into a single video. They end up taking your attention AWAY from the video and to the transition.
  • 2) (goes with #1) - Unless it's some type of Thriller or Action Film stay away from the overly dramatic transitions completely. Totally pulls the viewer out of the Virtual Reality experience.
  • 3) This type of video isn't a good fit for the FPV type of flying. I had a co-worker here watching it over my shoulder and she had to quit watching because the "barrel roll" of the FPV was too much on the large monitor. Cater to your audience and if the FPV lovers are your audience then you nailed it.
  • 4) Watch the video length. Unless it's very exciting/riveting most people lose interest in an Aerial Video after 60 seconds (less if it's boring). I made it to 1:31 which says a lot :)

I use LITCHI for this type of work and it works splendidly. I've never tried it using the DJI software because Litchi does it so well time and time again.