DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Video beginner questions

Jedi5150

Reactions
Hello all, I tried asking this in the Mini sub-forum, but I didn't get any responses, so I'm hoping for better luck here.

I have a little experience in digital photography, including using manual settings, post processing, etc. But I am a complete beginner when it comes to video. With the Mini, I will be limited to 2.7k, which I honestly think will be just fine. At most, my videos will be for showing online, for forums, maybe youtube, etc. My main question is this:

Is 2.7k (or 4k for that matter) actually higher image quality than say, 1080P? Or does it simply mean it can be shown on a larger screen? In other words, will I be making my video less detailed, or more "blurry", by filming it in 1080P instead of using the 2.7k, provided it will only be shown on a screen as large as a computer monitor?

Thanks in advance.

I'm still learning too, and it looks like it's a bit of a gray area with the Mini's 2.7K resolution.

On the one hand 4K resolution offers increased sharpness due to both the number of pixels, and also a higher allotted bitrate by Youtube's compression algorithm; but on the other hand, to upload at 4K you have to upscale the image by 48% first to get to 4K so you're losing sharpness there.

Shooting at 2.7K and downsampling to 1080p for uploading offers increased sharpness but sometimes introduces moire patterns and other artifacts compared to shooting at 1080p natively. Also, youtube gives you a lower bitrate when you upload at 1080p so it will suffer more compression.

Shooting at 1080p natively and uploading to youtube at 1080p might be easiest to edit at the expense of some extra compression, but I think you get a bitrate bump if you shoot 60fps. Your camera moves will appear smoother and have less "judder" at 60fps, but it won't be as cinematic feeling.