DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Why did my Mavic Air 2 fall out of the sky after 1 minute of flight?

MNewman

Reactions
Hi Everybody,

I'm a real estate photographer/videographer and have been flying drones for several years. Today, I was using my Mavic Air 2 for a real estate shoot. About 1 minute into the flight, I got the following message:

"Image transmission signal may be blocked. Position remote controller to face aircraft and adjust antennas for optimal signal strength or fly at higher altitude (Code: 80004). Weak signal. Adjust antennas.; Image transmission signal may be blocked. Position remote controller to face aircraft and adjust antennas for optimal signal strength or fly at higher altitude.; Aircraft not connected to RC.; RC not connected to mobile device.; Target flight area is a Warning Zone. Fly with caution.

My monitor went blank and the drone was nowhere to be seen in the sky at its last location. After thirty minutes of searching, I finally discovered that it had apparently fallen out of the sky and crashed into someone's backyard. It's now smashed to bits, and the lithium battery has a bulge in it.

My question is -- what exactly happened to cause this? Is it possible some neighbor used a jammer to knock it out of the sky? I've flown nearly one hundred flights with this particular aircraft and my battery was fully charged before I started. Here's the flight log:

Please let me know if you can figure out what caused this. I should add that I did crash the drone into a tree branch during the previous flight I was on, but it managed to dislodge from the tree and continue to fly without any problem for the rest of the shoot (another 10 minutes or so). A few of the propellers were a little scratched, but obviously not badly enough to compromise it.

Any and all advice and suggestions would be much appreciated!

~M

And here's the .DAT file (attached below)

Attachments