DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Would you advise for or against ?

Soxer123

Reactions
Monday coming, I need to get some photos for my employer of the inside of a large warehouse.

My question is, would it be advisable to put my Mavic Air to use to get these pictures?

The area I will be working in is large and open and the roof is high at about forty feet. I'd only be looking to put it up to a height of maybe 15 - 20 feet.

What I am worried about having not flown indoors, is the loss of GPS signal to keep it stable. I will in the interim, be researching the sensor system for this model, as I read somewhere to can do this.

Just want the opinion of Air owners.

I've been flying for about 6 months now, but do rely on the technology to keep the thing stable.

Over to you please.

What I am worried about having not flown indoors, is the loss of GPS signal to keep it stable
As long as the warehouse is well lit, the downward sensors will be able to keep the aircraft steady at an altitude of 15-20 feet. If there is a chance the aircraft could get a GPS signal, you should set the "Remote Controller Signal Lost" setting to "Hover" just in case the remote controller signal is somehow lost. You can find that setting in the following section of DJI GO:

Here are some other suggestions:
  • Don't power up the aircraft, take off near, or fly near any magnetic metal objects
  • If you have prop guards, it would be a good idea to attach them just in case something doesn't go as planned

I really appreciate that input. I will sent it up well away from everything and as long as I am happy, then I'll set about my photography.

Will check if there's any GPS before taking off and follow your advice. Thank you.

Keith

Reactions: burlereese