DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Yet another enquiry about filters!

JFangs

Reactions
Hello Mav Pilots. Long time lurker, first time posting. I had a question about Filters. Don't worry, I already did the search and read pretty much every thread on the topic. In fact, I did the same about 3 months ago and somehow settled on ND16 or ND32 but cannot recall as it's been some time since then lol I'm not a professional photographer, I live in SF Bay area with 3 international airports and 4 smaller airports in the vicinity which allow me zero opportunity to take my Zoom for a flight at work or at home.

MP2 Zoom is my first drone and so far I've had about 30 flights. As a hobby, I work with a friend who is DJ, which allows me to attend gigs out of area and get paid to play with the drone. So, with the limited experience I have with the Zoom, I know that I will need to use ND/P filters for a vacation I have coming up in the the South Pacific. I'm going to Tahiti for about 10 days starting this weekend. I'm assuming there will be a lot of glare from the shallow water and I intend to make small video clips. It seems that I cannot switch directions if I intend to use a P filter. Should I even bother getting PolarPro filters or just wing it? I mostly plan on taking pictures from multiple angles but having a few short vids would be nice.

This isn't a paid gig for a client so I don't really have any pressure to get it right but want to make it worth the effort of transporting a drone & accessories overseas. Thank you in advance for your help/suggestions.

You’ll likely be fine at certain angles, but for best results over water you may want to add the polarized counterparts of your current filters.

Reactions: JFangs
A GND (graduated neutral-density) filter will also come in very handy, as it works from every angle, and will darken the sky to lower the dynamic range of the scene.

Reactions: JFangs