DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Bird Attacks in the UK

JMDavies

Reactions
I have been flying DJI drones in the UK and Sweden for 3 years, mainly in remote areas where I have implicit permission (such as the Forest of Bowland), or high over farmland, having taken off from a public area. But this Spring was the first time I experienced attack from birds.

On the first occasion a pair of Shelduck circled my Mavic Mini, having flown high above a pond in the field behind our house. They swept past very fast and close, like a pair of fighter aircraft, harrying a russian bomber (!).

A week later, I was flying on the edge of the Forest of Bowland when my Mavic Mini was chased from some nearby farmland by a flock of Curlews, and they only desisted when I fly it back into a remote heathland valley. A third incident happened a few days later when my Mavic Air 2 was set upon by a group of Oyster Catchers.

I have been advised by game wardens in the Forest of Bowland to keep away from the hill tops during mating/nesting season - March to July - but the common factor here seems to be farmland and large but non-predators.

I have decided not to fly my drones until August, now.

Has anyone else had this kind of experience?

Attachments

• Oyster Catcher 3.jpg
    Oyster Catcher 3.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 186
If you search bird attacks , there are quite a few of ours that come up. Birds will always be a threat but you best weapon is just visual line of sight and the ability to go vertical something the birds cannot adjust to as well.

One thing we have proven from flying through a couple hundred seagulls is that if they do not want to hit you they will accommodate you.

Phantomrain.org
Gear to fly your Mavic in the Rain.

My mini 2 was attacked by a seagull a few weeks ago, the same psycho seagull that was attacking a Kite.

Previously, I've had groups of pigeons circling and getting awfully close.