DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Can you fly without cell service?

BuddyD

Reactions
Hello, I'm new to all of this and am getting ready to purchase a mavic 2 pro. I've been doing quite a lot of research into the many avenues of drone flying and have watched more you tube in the last couple months than probably in my whole life lol! One thing that I haven't really gotten the the bottom of is whether you can fly in areas without cell service and if this poses a problem (maybe a dumb question so sorry if it is). I've seen some talk of caching maps on the app and then going out and flying without wifi or anything but I really don't understand what that means in totality. Will your position show up in real time when you get to where you are going even though you have no wifi or cell service?? Sorry, total newb and I'm just trying to learn all I can, thanks for any help you guys can give me!!!

Reactions: MRomine
Hello, I'm new to all of this and am getting ready to purchase a mavic 2 pro. I've been doing quite a lot of research into the many avenues of drone flying and have watched more you tube in the last couple months than probably in my whole life lol! One thing that I haven't really gotten the the bottom of is whether you can fly in areas without cell service and if this poses a problem (maybe a dumb question so sorry if it is). I've seen some talk of caching maps on the app and then going out and flying without wifi or anything but I really don't understand what that means in totality. Will your position show up in real time when you get to where you are going even though you have no wifi or cell service?? Sorry, total newb and I'm just trying to learn all I can, thanks for any help you guys can give me!!!
Howdy from Wyoming @BuddyD , welcome to the community, plenty of fine folk and excellent information here. You do not need cellular service to fly.

Hi @BuddyD welcome alsoThumbswayup