Compact solution with HDMI out

Discussion in 'Mavic Pro Discussions' started by Kilrah, Nov 23, 2016.

  1. Kilrah

    Kilrah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Switzerland
    A device with HDMI out I had ordered among a couple of other solutions to try but with low expectations and that I've received today has proven to be actually much more appopriate than the others with just a couple of little tweaks.

    It's a clamshell-style android game console, due to the seemingly unsuitable packaging I was expecting to have to take it apart completely and try to design and 3d print a completely new casing that would hold the screen on top of the main body as in a typical tablet. But it happens that if the screen half is inserted in the remote (and it fits perfectly) the body can be put away vertically on your belly, actually making for a nice resting stand. And with the cables exiting below instead of the sides where they'd necessarily conflict with something regardless of the direction, that "unsuitable" packaging actually turns out to be much better than any other.

    Did first flight with it today and it was fine. It's not the most powerful device around, but runs well enough.

    Only a bit of velcro and a custom short/low profile USB cable were needed to do the mechanical job. Software required 2 tweaks, one to force screen rotation (the accelerometer is in the body, so when it's pointing down the GO app wants to display upside down - it also ignores the android screen rotation lock) and one to force audio out via the speakers as it defaults to routing it out to HDMI when a monitor is connected.
     

    Attached Files:

    Mr Spock likes this.
  2. Ender

    Ender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    92
    Great find Kilrah, what IS that thing ?

    Ender
     
  3. Kilrah

    Kilrah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Switzerland
  4. Ender

    Ender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    92
    Ah great i looked at several such thingys when i searched for something to Pilot my Bebops.
    Ended up with the NVIDIA Shield portable but hat was much more expensive.

    Thanks ! If a Mali T764 is good enough then probably my ANdorid-Nibiru VR Thing will work fine without any hassle / Adpters to have goggles :)

    Ender
     
    alon goldenberg likes this.
  5. Ender

    Ender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    92
    P.S. i take it 720p Streaming is fluid ?!
     
    Kilrah likes this.
  6. Ender

    Ender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    92
    Hmm, if the RK3288 ist fast enough this here could do as well:

    7 inch Gpd Q9 Game Tablet PC

    Its from the same company, only a tad bigger but with glasses on that wouldnt matter...
    Ender

    P.S. just guessing, no guarantees...
     
    #6 Ender, Nov 23, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2016
  7. stealle

    stealle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    157
  8. Kilrah

    Kilrah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Too big, both for carrying and using. The XD fits in my goggles' pouch, so I can easily take just the Mavic bag if I don't need the goggles, and also the goggles' pouch if I want to use them and in both cases have everything ready inside. The Shield would not fit in either compact bags.
    For use I don't want something that needs an extra mount, and for me the device that has HDMI out will be used for its HDMI out i.e. when only when I want to use my goggles. It's important to also have a screen to manipulate the app and look at at the beginning/end of the flight when goggles are off but for that the 5" is perfectly fine, no need for an 8" screen when I'm not looking at it.
     
  9. Kilrah

    Kilrah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Yes, a little choppy but probably not more than usual, just more noticeable when looking at a huge virtual screen.
     
  10. Ender

    Ender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    92
    Lets see, i keep that little beauty on the radar, i hope the best for my Note3 with HDMI out + USB slave mod and for my Hi8 Pro with HDMI out...
    THANK YOU for pointing this out !

    Ender
     
  11. Kilrah

    Kilrah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Switzerland
    One more tweak, use a DPI changer to change from 240 (I think...) to 170 to make the GO interface more reasonably sized (was really huge originally and covered way too much of the screen to my liking).

    Before:
    Screenshot_2016-11-27-16-59-24.png

    After:

    Screenshot_2016-11-27-17-07-14.png
     
  12. Ender

    Ender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    92
    Good find !
    Although IF one would use the Tablet not only for DJI-GO it might be unsuitable for other Apps or did you find a per-App dpi changer ?

    Greetings,

    Ender
     
  13. Kilrah

    Kilrah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Oops hadn't noticed that post...
    Nope, don't know of a per-app DPI changer, it's a system property. But I'm personally fine with the settings for other stuff as well, I actually do like interface elements to be small and always set my android devices to the smallest font/layout size.
     
  14. Kilrah

    Kilrah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Switzerland
    A few updates, after getting a bit annoyed with video lag/stuttering I read a bit further and found that while the CPU in that thing is a quad core 1.8GHz the stock ROM only makes it run at max 1.4, and with a governor that focuses a bit too much on power saving (which is stupid IMO since the battery is huge anyway).
    Found someone made an alternative "LegacyROM" that does allow to run at the full 1.8GHz and flashed that. Along with a governor change to "performance" i.e. it constantly runs full speed it's now running great, got a couple of hours of flight with it now.

    So it makes for a great solution, but there's work involved to set everything right.
     
  15. Ender

    Ender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    92
    Oops, so much for my smart*ss remark in that other thread asking you to overclock it ;-)
    Great !
    I am still bidding for a XD here which would make my "devices to try with the mavic" count == 5

    ;-)

    Ender
     
  16. Kilrah

    Kilrah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Oops, guess I missed that too :confused:
    EDIT: Found now. Stock kernel "advertised" speeds up to 1800MHz to apps like SetCPU, but would not actually follow orders to use them, was stuck at max 1416. Different kernel was really needed.

    Awesome, makes my 3 feel more reasonable :p
    And you don't even have a Mavic yet...
     
  17. Ender

    Ender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    92
    Yup, but i use those things for WidV Groundstation and my beloved Bebop and they have similar Requirements...
    Only 2 were actually bought for the Mav :)

    Ender
     
  18. Cheongbentong

    Cheongbentong New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Merry Christmas All.
    Pl advise how to get a Clean HDMI output (Mavic) for link to a Video Switcher. (For Phantom 3, an optional HDMI card makes it possible)
    Thanks.
     
  19. Kilrah

    Kilrah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Switzerland
    You can not get a guaranteed clean video output with the Mavic.

    All solutions allow you to have it mostly clean when you swipe the app's OSD away, but any warnings will still pop up.
     
  20. Cheongbentong

    Cheongbentong New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you.
    Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Compact solution HDMI Forum Date
Nice compact bag - US $10 @ Walmart General Discussions Feb 3, 2017
Sony Xperia Z3 Tablet compact with the Mavic -works! General Discussions Feb 2, 2017
Compact ND lens filter case Mavic Pro Discussions Dec 20, 2016
Photo Resolution General Discussions Yesterday at 9:54 AM
Poor resolution in Litchi VR mode Control Apps - DJI, Litchi, Autopilot, etc... Wednesday at 7:51 PM

Share This Page