DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Disappointed - New Pano Mode

ddodell

Reactions
As some other posters have commented, the new pano mode while "fast" ... doesn't give enough time for the camera to compensate for exposure ...

Just got back from a trip to Northern California. Flew my Mavic out over the SS Palo Alto. Now I'm a new pilot, and still a little cautious on every flight (not a bad thing) ... but this was my first time flying it off a cliff and over the ocean.

First, glad I've been reading this forum for a long time, and understood that my vertical height was from the take-off point, not over the area I was flying. I took off about 100 feet from the cliff from the picture, and so probably was 300 plus feet about the ocean ..

So first question ... how do you know how high you are above the terrain you're flying ... educated guess since the app/drone is not telling you.

Second question ... as you can see the exposure is absolutely horrible from the speed the Mavic pano mode is taking images ... I recently have purchased the Lichi app ... but haven't used it enough to feel comfortable flying it in this situation since this was my first time outside of flat Arizona. So anyway to "slow" down the Pano mode so it has time to adjust for the exposures?

Horrible results below ...

SS Palo Alto

Reactions: UAVNV
Mate what did you have the exposure set at? Auto or manual.?
The whole thing looks over exposed. What direction did you start shooting? (what were you looking at at the start..)

Reactions: Kilrah
Mate what did you have the exposure set at? Auto or manual.?
The whole thing looks over exposed. What direction did you start shooting? (what were you looking at at the start..)

I agree, the whole thing is very over-exposed. I had the exposure set to Auto ... it was a very bright hazy afternoon about 4 pm, with the sun setting over the ocean to the west ... not a lot of good contrast.