DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Dji mini 2 control becomes slow and out of range

alf1956

Reactions
Hello
I am very new to drone flying and i have just purchased a DJi mini 2 second hand with 3 x batteries etc. When i first fly the drone for around 5 minutes it performs great but then it becomes very slow and unresponsive and wont move hardly at all even when i am 10 metres away from the drone, i have tried this with fully charged batteries and it is still the same. It also says maximum range reached when i am quite near the drone around 20 metres away. I would appreciate any help on this please.

Last edited:
Hello, I have never heard of a DJI drone called "11".

Reactions: 13_Dragons
I'm going to imagine that this is possibly a mini 2, or a Mavic 2. In the settings, there is an entry marked "beginner mode". This limits the height and distance the drone can be flown away from the controller. Switch it off and the drone will have greater range. Also, in the settings menu, there are three sliders that determine:

a) how high the drone will fly
b) how far away it can fly
c) how high it will climb when RTH is engaged

Slide the first two as far to the right as you can.
Set the third slider to what you consider a safe height for the drone to climb so that it goes over the top of any building or trees that are between the drone and where you stand.

Reactions: shb and MA2 317
Hello
I am very new to drone flying and i have just purchased a DJI 11 second hand with 3 x batteries etc. When i first fly the drone for around 5 minutes it performs great but then it becomes very slow and unresponsive and wont move hardly at all even when i am 10 metres away from the drone, i have tried this with fully charged batteries and it is still the same. It also says maximum range reached when i am quite near the drone around 20 metres away. I would appreciate any help on this please.