DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Drone pilot from Washington, D.C.

DCDronePilot

Reactions
I'm a second year Ph.D candidate in Washington, D.C., and a technology geek/nerd. I love photography and being outdoors amongst nature. I'm also an avid backpacker, and enjoy doing a great many other things outside. Besides being athletic, I am a private pilot and received my single engine license at 17 years old (presently 30), and followed that up with a number of other certifications in flying single and multi-engine aircraft, as well as was a member of CAP and a Expert Ranger that trained at Hawk Mountain Ranger School. Five years ago I was also trained with Tom Brown in New Jersey in a multitude of courses, but none of that pertains to flying, and more closely to SAR.

I recently decided to start droning but have not yet purchased my first drone because I am currently researching every aspect of the hobby. I do plan to make my purchase soon. Thus far, I have purchased a portable external hard drive, micro SD cards, F-Stop backpack, and a number of pouches from Think Tank as well as others for organization.

I am presently researching the DJI Mavic Pro II, and the Autel Evo, because I want portability with my aircraft. If you have any advice for a newbie, I am definitely willing to listen.

Last edited:
Reactions: dirkclod
Welcome, that's quite a resume. Let's hope DJI doesn't foul up the inevitable Mavic II with an Air Platinum, or whatever.

I never studied the Autel. When I first laid eyes on the Pro I said that thing looks wicked, I got to have it.

I'm still a noob who crashed into a tree within 2 months of ownership so I could just be talking out of my butt.

Hang around, lots of info here and some good people who are true fans of the hobby.

Reactions: DCDronePilot
Little late but Welcome to Mavic Pilots .
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .