DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Floats???

Pyrate

Premium Pilot
Reactions
Newbie here and I live in a middle of a lake! Litterally out on a peninsula i can throw a rock and hit water on both sides of me- what are the best floats or do I even need them??? I have a M2P and really do not want to loose it? what are your thoughts? My son had a Carma go pro- and it died and went swimming, we did find it 3 weeks later... any suggestions?

Reactions: JackL

Attachments

• IMG_0024.JPG
    IMG_0024.JPG
    3.7 MB · Views: 72
  • IMG_0030.JPG
    IMG_0030.JPG
    2.5 MB · Views: 73
Reactions: Phantomrain.org
There are pontoons for landing on water but they only work if you're landing on water intentionally. If you were flying and touched the water, they wouldn't help much. The drone would just tumble. I fly over water a lot. So far, I've put just over 100 miles on my MA2 and I bet 40 of those miles was over water. So far, no issues. Doesn't mean I won't dunk it at some point.

Amazed Phantom Rain hasn’t already been all over you.

Last edited:
I just want to find it! a tether that releases when and if hits the water would work fine for me, I just don't want to lose it, My Sons Karma- we walked the area for days! - Actually fished.

Newbie here and I live in a middle of a lake! Litterally out on a peninsula i can throw a rock and hit water on both sides of me- what are the best floats or do I even need them??? I have a M2P and really do not want to loose it? what are your thoughts? My son had a Carma go pro- and it died and went swimming, we did find it 3 weeks later... any suggestions?
be Very careful Not to make the drone topheavy.... the floats Must be spread out for zero chance for a flip while floating.....
with no worry about weight, some R&D will be fun. On my first drone, a big orange Autel, it was easy but REALLY ugly.

Reactions: Deerfield