DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying with only remote (no phone)

Snow Bird 1

Reactions
Hi All; I am a new pilot - 1 hr flying so far - so please don't bag me for this one, but I can't find a firm "yes" or "no" anywhere. Docs allude to "yes" and it looks like you can, but.....

I have multiple batteries so the RC and Bird will likely outlast the phone battery. So, if I put the phone on charge, for say, 30 minutes, I could fly the bird just using the RC - still have some fun etc. And since the phone is not plugged in to the RC, I could have power to it (RC) while flying ???

Or am I nuts??

Reactions: butterflyslicer
Yes it flies just fine without a mobile device attached. You won't have access the intelligent flight modes though as they need the app.

In addition to Logger's comment: when you get far enough away that it's difficult to tell its orientation then it gets tougher and tougher to maneuver well w/o the camera view to help. You end up doing trial and error yaw hits until you see the lights...

And, I could charge the RC while flying from it alone???

I've flown with a power bank plugged in and charging my RC, while my phone was plugged into the bottom USB port of the controller. This worked fine. Not sure if any of the newer firmware releases maybe have changed whether or not this still works. Easy to find out, though. Just try it.

How many batteries do you own? Which phone are you using? A fully charged phone should outlast your RC remote battery