DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Height above ground indicator

Ozdriver

Reactions
Hi, newbie here.
I need to know height above ground rather than altitude. It shows it on the controller, but not on the app. As I am using an iPad this is inconvenient as I have to keep glancing at the controller, and I live in a heavily treed area with powerlines everywhere.
Is there any way of getting the height above ground indication onto the iPad screen? Or maybe there will be a future update?

Is there any way of getting the height above ground indication onto the iPad screen?
If your Mavic is flying close enough above the ground (or a tree), you'll be able to see the distance between the bottom of the Mavic and the top of the obstacle below the Mavic if the downward sensors are enabled (as long as there is enough light in the flying area). That measurement will display here in DJI GO:

DJI-GO-VPS-Altitude.jpg

I wouldn't recommend relying on those sensors 100% though. When flying near obstacles, it's best to always use your eyes (VLOS).

maybe there will be a future update?
I doubt DJI will ever attempt to add such a feature. There's likely too much room for error.

Reactions: Ozdriver
Ah, thanks. I must have missed seeing it on the screen.
Another thing, I landed on my brother’s deck next door, and it created a new RTH point, so when I pressed RTH, it wanted to return to his place. How can I get it to return to my original take off point at my house? I guess you could set it to return to the controller, but that way I imagine it would rely solely on gps of the controller.

How can I get it to return to my original take off point at my house?
There's no way to revert the home point after it has been updated.

The best you could have done was set the home point to your mobile device's current location. All should be fine if that location is accurate.

There's no way to revert the home point after it has been updated.