DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Intermittent jerky video - newbie here!

Col O

Reactions
New Mini4Pro. Since new I have had jerky video, perhaps 20% of footage. Live feed can be jerky, maybe local interference. Some recordings mimic the live recording jerkiness, other times recordings are ok. Using different sd cards (including dji recommended) - no difference. Even happens in open countryside, at most unexpected times. Contacted dji - usual try this and that, but nothing changes. I think recording to internal memory is ok, even when live streaming is jerky. I never fly it far, at most 500 meters. Not a playback issue - same jerkiness at same spot on footage, whether played on pc, phone, or iPad. Could it be hardware issue, problem writing to sd card? Any thoughts?

Reactions: 4006448
And just so you don't mix thing's up... the live screen & the recording onto the SD card in the drone is 2 different streams. The live screen can be recorded on your screen device & stored there as a low res video, and if you have interference in the transmission making the live screen jerky, you will have the same in the low res video... but not on the SD card recording.

Do you pan quickly or fly very close to ground or any other object where you see that jerkiness? if so, try to pan or pass the objects slower & see if that helps.

Here a link that explains how & why panning can make a video jittery/jerky:

https://www.red.com/red-101/camera-panning-speed

Is that video a unmodified file directly from the SD card in the drone... look like a low res recording of the live view?

And the panning in the end that starts where you front the castle... is way to fast if you use 24-30fps, panning that fast will usually generate a jerky recording, the approx recommendation is that you pan through the width of the pic during approx. 7sec if using the lower end of fps, you can pan a bit faster if using 60fps.

Reactions: jimlips