DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

iPhone Issue Help? Random Power Down

HelloNasty1

Reactions
My first flight (I'm a newb) about 385 up maybe 700 feet away and all going great. Heavy wind warning on controller. Then my phone 100% shuts down. I panic, but realize I will be okay. Bring Mavic closer and practice flying low in the field until battery wore down. Then power up iPhone 6S and showing 59% (started at 95%). Next flight on next Mavic battery again about 6-8 min into flight phone shuts off.
WTF. I know this is an iPhone issue as it has done this randomly before. But never back to back. Anyone else?

Sent from my iPhone using MavicPilots

Yes.....although I don't have the Mavic yet...(I have one on order) this has happened several times to my iPhone 6 plus. This past Sunday I stopped by The Apple Store and they ran a diagnostic on my phone / battery. The tech said it was not the battery, but a software issue and I needed to reset the phone, after I saved everything to the iCloud. I haven't done that yet but plan to eventually. The tech was very informative about the procedure and guided me through the entire process.....although being 60 years old I'm still having trouble grasping the iCloud. It seemed like my phone went to zero once it got below 40%......and as you said, when I powered it back on it showed 38% but then died immediately until i gave it a full charge. My phone doesn't do this all the time, just once in a while.......although I would have to have it happen while flying!! I suggest taking it to The Apple Store.

Yeah. Just got off phone with Apple. Ran some test. Said go to store get a new one. I don't use iCloud, so always nerve racking on backing up device.