DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Pro Quickshots.....

I'm new at this, and the simultaneous adjustments of both sticks and the gimbal while keeping the subject centered, and panning, rotating, and changing elevation smoothly, are not easy. I understand that will get better with experience, but frankly, I think Quickshots produces a better result than even an experienced pilot like you, as far as smoothness and keeping the subject centered. I mean no offense by that, as that's certainly much better than I can do. But personally, I really appreciate the fact that even a beginner like me can whip out the drone, and fairly quickly and easily capture a pretty good looking complex shot, and even do that with myself in the frame, and being part of the environment rather than starring down at the remote.
The main advantage for any of the Intelligent Flight Modes is that the beginners can "fly" them easily. For people that can fly them manually, the only real use for these modes would be if they wanted a video of themselves not flying.

I'm not very good with them either, but the concept of manually flying these modes isn't complicated. To fly a circle around something (Point of Interest mode), simply move sideways slowly and add just enough yaw to keep the camera point at the subject. Hold the sticks still and it will fly a circle around the subject. If you want to spiral upwards at the same time (Helix mode), you just need to add a little "throttle" to climb slowly. Again, holding the sticks still once you get the motion you desire. You can also have the spiral increase in diameter (might be part of the Helix mode, not sure) by throwing in a little reverse pitch.

The part that I have the hardest time with it adjusting the gimbal smoothly as I'm changing altitude during these maneuvers. Just can't get the hang of that dang wheel.

Reactions: Ron_Dog