DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Video editing software for noobs

NYCMAV

Reactions
So I own a mavic and I've already started to collect some great footage from NYC and trips down to Miami. The only problem is that I have a LOT of large individual files that need piecing together so they can be shared.

Whats a good piece of software to get my post-production feet wet? Would love something very simple that would enable me just to edit clips and reduce the overall file sizes (right now everything is in 4K and gigabytes in size).

Thanks!

NYC,

I am a complete amateur hobbyist. I feel it's very important to say that before I say anything else. I got into this aerial video drone stuff for fun only. I love flying and sharing my homemade videos with my family and friends mostly on YT. I'm trying to produce decent and somewhat unique video to share with them, I'm not trying to be a professional.

That being said, I've had to learn to do some basic editing and continue to try to learn more about it as I go along. I've gained a great deal of respect and admiration for the real "professionals" around here. The amount of expertise, talent and work that goes into "real" editing is a testament to the true artistry (and artists) in this profession.

From an amateurs perspective, I started with and still use Windows Movie Maker. It's free and it's relatively easy to produce the kind of videos that I described above. I don't shoot in 4K, the file sizes are very large and harder to work with than lower resolution stuff. I try to set my camera up for the least amount of editing possible and shoot most everything in 1080p.