DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What is causing props to come flying off?

I believe the constant pressure on the springs wears the springs out

I am not an engineer so I can only speak from personal experience. I tend to agree, same thoughts as a magazine, racing springs and typewriter repair back in the day.
I personally remove props after each flight, I check them securely installed.
To each their own, my $0.02

Let's start a polling. Let's ask those who have lost a prop in flight, "Have you ever removed your props, or have you never removed your props? If yes, how often?
Me thinks that this data might be informative.

I recently had a prop come off that cost me almost $400 in repairs if you include postage.

As Just_nick mentioned above I'm sure it was because I had just changed the props the night before.

As a precaution I double-checked them the next day before flying a commercial job but my fingers were so cold I had difficulty
replacing the props.

I thought I had checked them thoroughly and I even took off to about 10 feet or so and landed again as a test, apparently that wasn't enough of a test. I took off again heading to 350 feet and at a little over a hundred feet a blade came off and it came down hard.

What did I learn? Check them in a warm place so your hands work!

Reactions: raymo
since this topic is still alive and I'm one of those few that takes the props off when not flying, yes, I read up a few physics forums and articles and yes, springs can lose compression over time, the severity depends on the type of spring material and compression rate. Keeping the props on all of the time will reduce their ability to push up the prop, but that will take years.