DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

5.1K to 4K

Filmarik

Reactions
What is the right way of converting Mavic3Pro 5.1K footage into 4K UHD? I assume the two most obvious options are to either drop 5.1K original footage on 4K timeline or edit on 5.1K timeline and export to 4K as last step?? Or maybe there is a third way ??

3rd way would be via free 3rd party video utility apps like VLC or Handbrake.
I am no great expert but IME the 3rd way is only especially helpful for batch processing - if I ever have to convert just a few clips, then regular rescaling in DaVinci Resolve (or similar) seems totally fine for most cases.

3rd way would be via free 3rd party video utility apps like VLC or Handbrake.
I am no great expert but IME the 3rd way is only especially helpful for batch processing - if I ever have to convert just a few clips, then regular rescaling in DaVinci Resolve (or similar) seems totally fine for most cases.
Pardon my rookie question but how do you rescale in DaVinci Resolve?

Pardon my rookie question but how do you rescale in DaVinci Resolve?
You can either just load it into a timeline of target resolution, and it will sort itself out (obviously, resist the dialogue that asks if you want to change project settings to match footage!), or you can just alter its scale in the inspector panel directly in the edit timeline.

What is the right way of converting Mavic3Pro 5.1K footage into 4K UHD? I assume the two most obvious options are to either drop 5.1K original footage on 4K timeline or edit on 5.1K timeline and export to 4K as last step?? Or maybe there is a third way ??