DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

A drop of oil on drone motors

Does DJI recommend it?

They are brushless motors and don't need it.

Maybe a can of air to blow dust away.

If you add oil, it's going to attract more dust.

I've been flying since 2017 and never had a need to add oil to my DJI drones.

Is it safe to add a drop of high speed oil to mavic 3 pro after 6 months of flying?

I don't think it's advisable to attempt to lubricate motors that aren't designed to be lubricated.

Any oil applied to the exterior of the motor will attract grit and dust. It may also find its way to electrical components and plastics that it might damage.

I just renewed my Part 107 certificate and was reminded that the FAA's advice for drone maintenance directs the pilot to follow the manufacturer's maintenance instructions. DJI makes no mention of motor lubrication.

For sure I wouldn't do this for maintenance because it is unnecessary but I once had a stuck motor on the Mini 3 that prevented lift off and the dry lube was recommended and actually fixed the issue.

Not me and not my video:
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Did it or could it have been the gas blast that blew the contaminent/grit away ?
Yeah that didn't work for me, even with just the canned air; neither did turning the blade vigorously; ymmv. Having the issue off and on with just one motor didn't point to such an obstruction but one zap with the dry lube and issue was gone forever. Such a relief from not knowing from flight to flight if you could fly or if you were done for the day. But for the OP, I don't think maintenance spray is required.

For sure I wouldn't do this for maintenance because it is unnecessary but I once had a stuck motor on the Mini 3 that prevented lift off and the dry lube was recommended and actually fixed the issue.

Not me and not my video: