DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

About to buy a new laptop. Should which one I buy factor in to my drone hobby? I'm brand new to this......

I thought Gaming laptop would be a good choice too. Turns out, gaming laptops are for gaming. I ordered a 17 inch HP OMEN with all the bells and whistles. Beautiful laptop but it was a gaming laptop and had problems with it and my editing software. I was using Premier Pro but have switched to Davinci Resolve. I sent the OMEN back. It was a good laptop if you are into gaming. The specs in your link look good for editing. I would recommend 32GB memory and 1TB if you can spare the $$$. The 32GB memory is really nice. Also beware, if you have to order one rather than buying off the shelf be prepared for about a 4 to 6 month wait. That was my experience.

What was the problem with the software? Given video processing is now heavily reliant on the graphics cards, editing software should be able to render much faster on a gaming laptop compared to a Windows laptop without a decent GPU. It's not the case with all of them buy gaming laptops are usually better for expansion as well with non-soldered ram slots and more storage slots. It's better longterm to be able to upgrade the PC plus it gives more options when buying, I bought a machine with 8GB RAM and a 1TB hard drive as the upgrades with the vendor were pricey and limited so I could chuck in 32GB ram and 2TB SSD for less than it would have cost to get 16GB/512GB SSD from the vendor.

I edit 4K videos with a 2016 Toshiba Satellite S75 laptop using Shotcut. You don't need a massive computer for 4K editing. My My laptop has 16 GB memory, Intel Core i7-4720HQ processor, 17.3" display (1080p), HDMI with 4K output. What helps is the 2GB AMD Radeon R9 M265x dedicated graphics.
My suggestion for a laptop is to have dedicated graphics. Using CPU for generating exported video is not good, but using hardware graphics is fine.