DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air2S - shooting at sunset (photo and video) guidance.

RonanCork

Reactions
Hey Guys,

I hope you're all well.

I've been asked by a client (a hotel - with gardens/grounds surrounding) to take some footage (video primarily but with some photos) of their property around sunset. Essentially they're looking for something similar to this video - not quite a nighttime but dark enough that outside lights are showing.

I've been flying a Mavic Drones for a few years now (Air2S I have now) but have mostly shot during the day and I'm confident to be able to do the job - but wanted to ask if you guys, who might have done similar, for any advice you may have at shooting this time of the day, as it's a little after sunset. I want to ensure that the quality of the footage is as good as possible (i.e. as good as you can get in diminishing light.

In post, I'll use Lightroom Classic for photos and Resolve v17 for video.

My thoughts: Remove any ND filters, and shoot in low ISO if possible otherwise grain/noise can creep up. Shoot in RAW and pro mode for both photo and video and use the on-screen Histogram to help me.

Any tips/pointers etc. would be much appreciated.

Thanks Ro

Reactions: JimSteadman
...My thoughts: Remove any ND filters, shoot in low ISO if possible otherwise grain/noise can creep up. Shoot in RAW and pro mode for both photo and video and use the on-screen Histogram to help me.

Any tips/pointers...
Mainly what you wrote... then try to expose as far to the right in the histogram as possible without blowing out any highlights you want to preserve, this to brighten up the darker parts as much as possible & minimize noise creeping in there if you try to brighten them in post.