Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

Air2s - where to Access older firmwares on DJI assistant

AnDronioBanderos

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
59
Reactions
38
Location
Ireland
Hi

When I connect my Air 2s to DJI assistant,it only shows the current firmware and none of the previous one's.

Is there a repository of all firmwares or is there a mod or modded DJI assistant that I can do that Will show older firmwares as well as the currently installed one?

Possibly an older version of DJI assistant?

Thanks
 
Last edited:

eEridani

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Aug 21, 2021
Messages
837
Reactions
637
Location
Boise, ID, USA
No. That's why I asked DJI. I would not trust any vendor or private party to keep the distributions, either, just way too easy to insert malware these days.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: AnDronioBanderos

Blacksheep Pilot

Active Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Nov 14, 2021
Messages
32
Reactions
23
Age
56
Location
Jacksonville FL
Thanks Very much.

Do you know if there is a publicly available list of firmwares for the air 2s?

Thanks
There is.
My air 2s arrived new today, and came with the wrong FW. Dji assistant2 did not have what I wanted.

DH software will allow you to flash anything you want, if you have it to flash it.

DH will guide you to this site Dank Drone Downloader - Web App and they have it all.

So I downloaded "02.04.2040" and flashed it in place of dji's firmware FW.

Then I successfully installed the certification hack from DH and my bird now flies where it could not before.
 
  • Like
Reactions: AnDronioBanderos

AnDronioBanderos

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
59
Reactions
38
Location
Ireland
There is.
My air 2s arrived new today, and came with the wrong FW. Dji assistant2 did not have what I wanted.

DH software will allow you to flash anything you want, if you have it to flash it.

DH will guide you to this site Dank Drone Downloader - Web App and they have it all.

So I downloaded "02.04.2040" and flashed it in place of dji's firmware FW.

Then I successfully installed the certification hack from DH and my bird now flies where it could not before.
Thanks mate, I'll give that a try Thumbswayup
 

Blacksheep Pilot

Active Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Nov 14, 2021
Messages
32
Reactions
23
Age
56
Location
Jacksonville FL
Thanks mate, I'll give that a try Thumbswayup

1637506626261.png

A little known secret DH offers for us that buy their products.

1637506700163.png

Once you have the FW downloaded to your hard drive, you select it with DH software hacker, and it will flash it to your bird. Took about 10-15 minutes.

Then you can install the CERT you want.

1637506805891.png

I'm not sure, you might have to buy the cert before the flash will work. I don't remember if I flashed before I bought, or bought before I flashed.

What FW came on your bird that you want replaced?
 
  • Like
Reactions: AnDronioBanderos

AnDronioBanderos

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
59
Reactions
38
Location
Ireland
View attachment 138785

A little known secret DH offers for us that buy their products.

View attachment 138786

Once you have the FW downloaded to your hard drive, you select it with DH software hacker, and it will flash it to your bird. Took about 10-15 minutes.

Then you can install the CERT you want.

View attachment 138787

I'm not sure, you might have to buy the cert before the flash will work. I don't remember if I flashed before I bought, or bought before I flashed.

What FW came on your bird that you want replaced?
View attachment 138785

A little known secret DH offers for us that buy their products.

View attachment 138786

Once you have the FW downloaded to your hard drive, you select it with DH software hacker, and it will flash it to your bird. Took about 10-15 minutes.

Then you can install the CERT you want.

View attachment 138787

I'm not sure, you might have to buy the cert before the flash will work. I don't remember if I flashed before I bought, or bought before I flashed.

What FW came on your bird that you want replaced?
Hi mate

Thanks very much for the all the information.

I had upgraded my Air 2s firmware recently to,I think 02.04.2080 but I can't check until later as drone is in storage in a different room.

I panicked because I read crap and assumed I upgraded it prematurely so wanted to check if I could just go back to what I had previously had .

I used to be able to download when I had other DJI drones but no option on assistant 2 in previous firmwares so I did some work on windows 10 But still needed the firmware repo's.

Thanks very much for your help
 

Blacksheep Pilot

Active Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Nov 14, 2021
Messages
32
Reactions
23
Age
56
Location
Jacksonville FL
Hi mate

Thanks very much for the all the information.

I had upgraded my Air 2s firmware recently to,I think 02.04.2080 but I can't check until later as drone is in storage in a different room.

I panicked because I read crap and assumed I upgraded it prematurely so wanted to check if I could just go back to what I had previously had .

I used to be able to download when I had other DJI drones but no option on assistant 2 in previous firmwares so I did some work on windows 10 But still needed the firmware repo's.

Thanks very much for your help
DJI assitant2 does not seem to let you go backwards.
However, DH software seems to let you flash anything you want, including backwards, since they supply of repository of all of them.

DJI Assistant2 would not even show me this option, so I downloaded from
DH site, and flashed in 02.04.2040 (recommended!). It works great until I flew my air 2s into my shop at 20 mph. But it's not a firmware problem, it's a newbie pilot problem. Now I'm sending my drone off to the repair shop. :rolleyes:
 
  • Like
Reactions: AnDronioBanderos

Blacksheep Pilot

Active Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Nov 14, 2021
Messages
32
Reactions
23
Age
56
Location
Jacksonville FL
Hi mate

Thanks very much for the all the information.

I had upgraded my Air 2s firmware recently to,I think 02.04.2080 but I can't check until later as drone is in storage in a different room.

I panicked because I read crap and assumed I upgraded it prematurely so wanted to check if I could just go back to what I had previously had .

I used to be able to download when I had other DJI drones but no option on assistant 2 in previous firmwares so I did some work on windows 10 But still needed the firmware repo's.

Thanks very much for your help
Well, are you going to let me know how it worked, so I can stop holding my breath? 🤪
 
  • Haha
Reactions: AnDronioBanderos

AnDronioBanderos

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
59
Reactions
38
Location
Ireland
Well, are you going to let me know how it worked, so I can stop holding my breath? 🤪
Sorry for the delay. I've had to go away for a few days so probably be the weekend.

Might take a bit of practice but I'll follow your instructions and report back.

But it's great to know it's possible to do. Thanks so much for sharing such detailed instructions.

Every day is a school day Thumbswayup