DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Almost lost it!

It was in RTH mode, and lucky for him that is a straight line back to the takeoff point. It traveled far enough in that effort to make it to a piece of land. Luck...nothing more! This event would’ve happen exactly the same over land, don’t blame the water.
Your right the water has nothing to do with it other than it's harder to find it in 30 ft of water.

Not sure what your trouble could be . I’ve been flying over water for two years. I fly a Mavic Pro and an Air2. I have never had any unusual occurrences with either. It sounds to me like you have a battery problem, not a drone problem.. living next to a lake Gives me unobstructed view and is a great place fly. I always return with 20-30% battery to give me a good margin for wins charges.
You were very very lucky. Glad it did not land in the water. Flying over water definitely has it's challenges. I don't go that far from shore. Do you have a video of it?
Here's a video I just did by the Long Island Sound
Ray, thanks for sharing your video!
I would fly over water more if it looks like that.
Nice work, did do any editing?

Reactions: RayKelly
Did you check UAV Forecast? Wind at 150ft might have been quite high and against your return flight. RTH speeds are not the fastest and often keep you up in that higher speed winds. If you watch your screen, it will be obvious that it is returning too slowly. Reducing altitude to lighter winds and if necessary, switch to sport mode (fast) and getter done.
Happy for your save but don’t let it stop you from water flights. Accept your, and your drones, limitations. Every flight is a learning experience. Enjoy

PS: use a float (GetterBack) if you have Care Refresh or over fresh water for retrieval.
Did not check UAV forecast, after looking at the flight log it was definitely a battery problem, flight lasted a little over 3 min. Total with the low battery warning.