DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Anyone ever been busted.... (107 question)

STUFF2C

Reactions
Anyone ever heard of anyone getting fined for flying for compensation with out a 107?

I see roofers flying inspections and have asked several and they have no idea it even exists

Reactions: Weazel
Good question. I’ve been flying for a couple years and never heard if anyone. I just recently got my 107 so I shall see in time. Nobody is out in the streets there policing it so unless someone catches you in the act or scans YouTube, it probably rarely happens

I did have someone tell me some of the insurance adjusters are now using drones and they are 107's and have been known to report non licensed folks to the FAA... no way to confirm that though.

Anyone ever heard of anyone getting fined for flying for compensation with out a 107?

I see roofers flying inspections and have asked several and they have no idea it even exists

An interesting question, but there is a logical answer. For most of us, the problem with flying unlicensed while being compensated isn't really getting busted by the FAA. It's about liability protection. It's about your liability should you crash your drone and damage someone's property or injure someone. I would presume that roofers, in particular, would already carry massive liability insurance which in most cases would cover them. For the most part they don't have the same worries as someone who is an amateur pilot/photographer who wouldn't be eligible for any type of commercial insurance while flying their drone for business.