DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Anyone using Mavic 3 Enterprise right now? Has anyone tried to film or photo a barcode?

klad

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2022
Messages
5
Reactions
1
Age
40
Location
Spain
Hi,
I'm working in a project where I need a drone to read barcodes (of course the drone itself won't do it), so I'm thinking to move to a Mavic 3 Enterprise, but I'd like to know if someone has tried to make something similar or if someone who has it can take a photo to single barcode just to check (anything like a cookies bag or a cola can).

I'm moving from smaller drones to a bigger one (to make developments also), but I need to be sure it will fit.

Can someone give me a hand?

Thanks in advance!
 

Meta4

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
12,433
Reactions
14,647
Age
66
if someone who has it can take a photo to single barcode just to check (anything like a cookies bag or a cola can).
A couple of issues you might have:
The drone's camera has a wideangle lens that makes objects appear more distant.
The drone's autofocus has trouble with small objects and wants to focus on the background.
I shot some samples for you with a Mavic 3 - virtually the same camera as the M3 Enterprise.
Shot at 1 metre and 0.5 metre, and because autofocus had trouble, I shot again with manual focus.
 

Attachments

  • 0.5 metre AF.JPG
    9.7 MB · Views: 37
  • 0.5 metre MF.JPG
    9.8 MB · Views: 30
  • 1 metre AF.JPG
    9.6 MB · Views: 25
  • 1 metre MF.JPG
    9.9 MB · Views: 31

klad

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2022
Messages
5
Reactions
1
Age
40
Location
Spain
A couple of issues you might have:
The drone's camera has a wideangle lens that makes objects appear more distant.
The drone's autofocus has trouble with small objects and wants to focus on the background.
I shot some samples for you with a Mavic 3 - virtually the same camera as the M3 Enterprise.
Shot at 1 metre and 0.5 metre, and because autofocus had trouble, I shot again with manual focus.
Thanks a lot!!
They are really useful!

With the manual focus they're fully readable.

Thanks for your help Meta4
 

AtoZ

Active Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2022
Messages
36
Reactions
56
Age
56
Location
Greensboro, NC
I shot some samples for you with a Mavic 3 - virtually the same camera as the M3 Enterprise.
A couple of issues you might have:
The drone's camera has a wideangle lens that makes objects appear more distant.
The drone's autofocus has trouble with small objects and wants to focus on the background.
I shot some samples for you with a Mavic 3 - virtually the same camera as the M3 Enterprise.
Shot at 1 metre and 0.5 metre, and because autofocus had trouble, I shot again with manual focus.
Almost correct. M3E Enterprise has mechanical shutter and take away some blur and make a difference.
Auto focus hmm, hit and miss.
 

karlblessing

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 17, 2020
Messages
829
Reactions
499
Age
41
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
Site
KarlBlessing.com
I shot some samples for you with a Mavic 3 - virtually the same camera as the M3 Enterprise.

Almost correct. M3E Enterprise has mechanical shutter and take away some blur and make a difference.
Auto focus hmm, hit and miss.
Also, isn't the enterprise version the only one that may end up with an SDK released for 3rd party app support?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Peter Upfold

AtoZ

Active Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2022
Messages
36
Reactions
56
Age
56
Location
Greensboro, NC
Also, isn't the enterprise version the only one that may end up with an SDK released for 3rd party app support?
Yes, One of the reason I got the Enterprise (plus Strobe Light and support for RTK if needed later). I have started to look into SDK see what it can used for. I hope they will release it soon for consumer drones also but might not happen or it be late next year..... I'm about to test Dronelink as they got a beta for M3 Enterprise and also the M30, I bit pricy but see how it works. Litchi said they will also look into support for M3 Enterprise
 
  • Like
Reactions: Peter Upfold

Peter Upfold

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2022
Messages
3
Reactions
0
Age
55
Location
9 Loch Road, Bryanston, Sandton, South Africa
Hi,
I'm working in a project where I need a drone to read barcodes (of course the drone itself won't do it), so I'm thinking to move to a Mavic 3 Enterprise, but I'd like to know if someone has tried to make something similar or if someone who has it can take a photo to single barcode just to check (anything like a cookies bag or a cola can).

I'm moving from smaller drones to a bigger one (to make developments also), but I need to be sure it will fit.

Can someone give me a hand?

Thanks in advance!
I have a similar requirement, have you got anywhere with this?
 

Peter Upfold

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2022
Messages
3
Reactions
0
Age
55
Location
9 Loch Road, Bryanston, Sandton, South Africa
A couple of issues you might have:
The drone's camera has a wideangle lens that makes objects appear more distant.
The drone's autofocus has trouble with small objects and wants to focus on the background.
I shot some samples for you with a Mavic 3 - virtually the same camera as the M3 Enterprise.
Shot at 1 metre and 0.5 metre, and because autofocus had trouble, I shot again with manual focus.
Thanks for these, very useful, Just one (stupid) question, what happens if you zoom in with the camera? Does the picture blur significantly?
 

Meta4

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
12,433
Reactions
14,647
Age
66
Thanks for these, very useful, Just one (stupid) question, what happens if you zoom in with the camera? Does the picture blur significantly?
I've not tried, but the more magnification, the harder it would be to fly because the screen view would show a smaller area.
 

karlblessing

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 17, 2020
Messages
829
Reactions
499
Age
41
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
Site
KarlBlessing.com
Thanks for these, very useful, Just one (stupid) question, what happens if you zoom in with the camera? Does the picture blur significantly?
You'll probably be able to test that just by cropping out the image from the original raw. Since there's no optical zoom (you're either at the default, or the 7x lens) , you wouldn't gain anything zooming (digitally) in camera over just cropping it in post.
 

DJI Drone Deals

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
123,288
Messages
1,450,952
Members
150,359
Latest member
MAF202