DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Authorization Zone Mystery

55Kevy

Reactions
I have been flying my Mini 2 for a couple of months around my rural lot. The DJI Fly app has consistently shown an Enhanced Warning Zone and I've checked the box and acknowledged that I'm responsible for flying. Today it showed an additional Authorization Zone and would not allow me to take off. The B4UFLY app shows neither of these. Yesterday B4UFLY showed an upcoming Presidential TFR starting in 22 hrs (at around 3:00 pm PDT). However this morning that was no longer shown on the app. How can DJI show an Authorization Zone and prevent me from flying when the official FAA app shows nothing?

I should note that there is also a wildfire burning nearby that has a TFR, but that is over 5 miles distant.

I'd appreciate any feedback and guidance. This was pretty frustrating as weather conditions (wind) has been too bad to fly for over a week.

I have shared your frustration many times. I sure hope Autel has improved the handling with their new models.

Reactions: db4476
I should note that there is also a wildfire burning nearby that has a TFR, but that is over 5 miles distant.
I've found the DJI authorization zone around fire TFR's to be much larger than the actual TFR as verified by Foreflight which shows the actual TFR location. I think it's due to the fact that fire TFR's will possible move.

I've found the DJI authorization zone around fire TFR's to be much larger than the actual TFR as verified by Foreflight which shows the actual TFR location. I think it's due to the fact that fire TFR's will possible move.
DJI's geofencing tends to be over-aggressive, even with ATC authorization and unlocking. I don't think it has anything to do with moving TFR's.

Reactions: hiflyer201
DJI's geofencing tends to be over-aggressive, even with ATC authorization and unlocking. I don't think it has anything to do with moving TFR's.