DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Auto landed into a tree today

Maui19

Reactions
Well heck. I'm new at this, and have only been able to take my MA2 out a couple times in the few days I've had it due to winds & rain. Today I was practicing near my house, which is nested in a pine forest with trees that are 100+ feet high. In past flights, I have been cautiously maneuvering down the driveway and street, and also taking it to 150'+ to take some pics and vids. So far, so good. Today I took the MA2 straight up to 150' to shot some vids. I decided to bring it back down using auto land to see how well it did. Well in previous ALs the drone had been a little twitchy, but I figured that's the state of the technology. Then it looked like it was coming down kinda close to some trees, but I figured it was ok. Before I knew it, the props were pruning pine needles. Crap!! I took it back up into the air, then brought it down without AL. Fortunately, there was no damage. I was surprised at how far off the MA2 drifted during AL, and further surprised it was willing to AL in the trees (there was plenty of battery left). There was zero wind, even in the tree tops. There was also plenty of light for the avoidance systems.

This all sent me back to the MA2 manual, which for me only serves to create more questions than it answers. But I am left with th thought that something is not right. Do I need to recalibrate some things?

Last edited:
Reactions: hiflyer201
Did you have a good satellite lock before you flew off? Did it report that the home point had been recorded? What were the light levels like?

Reactions: A.O.
I think I had 10 satellites locked on at launch. Plenty of light.

Auto land, as in go straight down at current position, or Return to Home (RTH) which first goes to home point (usually where it took off) an then lands?