DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Autonomous flight plans

Thrasherg

Reactions
Hi everyone, just joined this forum. I have been flying a Parrot Bebop2 for a few years, really like the drone, but it doesn’t really do anything exceptional well, and is very bulky. Just purchased a DJI Mini 3 Pro, very pleased with it and it’s size makes it so easy to carry when I go hiking or on my dirt bike. One feature that I loved on my Parrot was the ability to quickly create a flight plan (list of way points, with altitudes for each leg, directions where the camera should be looking and a list of effects, ie 360 spin, etc) which the Bebop2 would then fly autonomously. This software is 6+ years old and I had assumed all modern drones would have something similar, but I have not found anything in the DJI documentation about flight plans, is there a DJI software or aftermarket software that we can use to create a flight plan and then have the mini 3 pro fly the route by itself?
thanks for all suggestions, really loving the drone and all its tracking capabilities, just a shame that the controller needs an internet connection when you go flying, a bit of an inconvenience but loving the new RC controller.

regard Gary

The Litchi software will do what you want, but unlike older drones like the Mavic Pro, the RC must be in contact with the drone for the whole waypoint mission. On newer drones like the Mavic Mini 2 and the Mini 3 Pro, DJI has changed the hardware so the drone no longer has a large amount of operating memory, and it can only store one waypoint at a time. Once it executes that, it "talks" with the RC and gets the next (one) waypoint, executes that, etc. With the Mavic Pro, it loads the whole mission at once, and once it starts, you can power off the RC, and the drone will still execute the whole mission by itself.

Reactions: db4476