DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Battery health in cold conditions

Ralph thompson

Reactions
Not a new issue but would appreciate feedback from those knowledgeable in LiPo battery technology. I have 6 batteries for the M2P, the older batch of 3 are all around 60 cycles. All been carefully maintained and cycled about every 20 uses. All fully charged to 100% before use and stored after a couple of days at around 50%. But winter in Montreal can be harsh, operating in -20 deg C is pretty common and since I work as a journalist, I don't get to choose the days when drone photos are needed. I've had a few post flight shocks recently, there was no indication of a problem during the flight. The batteries were kept warm before TO and above 15deg C before climbing (a checklist item). These 3 examples are all the same battery.
Jan 3rd I saw after the flight some serious low volt warnings as low as 12.25V(I don't recall any warning during the flight). Ambient temp -15 deg C and the battery was between 60% and 27%. But would a low voltage on one cell cause the battery to shutdown?
220103_Volts.jpg

Feb 26th big deviation with cell 4 more than 0.07V below other cell voltages (I fully cycled the battery after this event). Ambient temp -20 feeling like -25 deg C. Why does it draw down on cell 4 all the time, is it possible to fix this? (I see from other posts that this has been observed by others)
220226_Bat.jpg220226_Volt.jpg

Feb 27th, battery fully cycled, but still a larger draw down on cell 4 after a few minutes and a spike where cell 4 deviated by 0.075 v
220227_Bat.jpg

I appreciate that the low ambient temperatures are hard on the batteries but I'm wondering if its time to retire this battery? (No swelling or cracks). Of course this could be the reason DJI specify a minimum operating temperature of -10 deg C.

Last edited: