DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Battery Safety.......??

What are your thoughts about using a 50 caliber ammo can with the gasket removed in conjunction with small LiPo bags for each battery?

Whatever storage is used, it’s probably best to seperate batteries from each other as much as possible.
If one goes and in close proximity to others, there’s a very strong chance thermal runaway will see them all go up.

Perhaps lipo bag for each in an ammo case or small fireproof safe would be ok.

If your concern is safety I would leave the gasket in the can to prevent air from coming in. most materials need air to combust.
Leaving in the gasket would effectively allow the ammo can to become pressurized and potentially become a bomb. I don't know at what point the gasket or the metal shell will fail but don't want to find out.......

I am a Senior Engineer for a well known global product safety group. Within my expertise is the use of batteries in a wide range of equipment types including ITE, industrial, etc.
lithium electrolyte batteries of any kind are potentially hazardous- the amount of energy stored in a relatively small package is enormous ( a coin or button cell can potentially explode and cause extensive damage over an area you wouldn’t believe!).
Another problem is fire and yes, if a lithium battery does catch fire it’s difficult to extinguish-water, CO2, foam and dry powder won’t work, there are special extinguishing agents for “metal fires”.
Water vcan help to cool containers and nearby infrastructure but in large installations the best advice is often to keep everything nearby cool if possible and allow it to burn out