DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Be safe if you hand catch

I’m a seasoned veteran with drones and I’ve watched a few of your vids (subbed). I have been flying from boats for a long time and always hand catch when aboard. I find your vids including this update video on the subject very informative and well articulated. There’s always a small bit of info I find I can come away with that I didn’t previously know.

Cheers!
I was on my Bro's boat on Lake Lanier last summer and it was fairly smooth but was still a bit more of a challenge with the soft swells. Do you turn off your downward sensors and landing protection? That is what I would do next time.

I was on my Bro's boat on Lake Lanier last summer and it was fairly smooth but was still a bit more of a challenge with the soft swells. Do you turn off your downward sensors and landing protection? That is what I would do next time.

Yes. Just landing protection like number three in the video.

This is a bit like telling a biker (bike or MC) how to stop and not tip over.

Hand catch is easy if you learn with plenty of battery and don’t grab.

I think about my Mavic 2 as an animal that I can ask to do things, not as a machine I control. This animal has limited senses and is easily frightened. When you grab it, the animal only knows that it is suddenly moving down. Maybe because of wind? Maybe because of thinner air? Maybe - well who can know?!?! What do you do when you are unexpectedly losing altitude? Throttle up! When that hand cants the drone left, it knows it needs to pull hard to the right to stay correctly oriented. These behaviors are why Mavics perform so very well in wind.